Search and Site Map
Annual Reports
The Data Base
Preeminent Editors Board
Senior Editors Board
Special Section Editors
Submission Guidelines
  Submission System
Current Conferences
Past Conferences
  Photo Gallery 
Outstanding Paper


Magid Igbaria Outstanding Conference Paper of the Year


The annual SIGMIS "Magid Igbaria Outstanding Conference Paper of the Year Award", approved in October 2003 by the ACM awards committee, recognizes the outstanding contributions to MIS and CPR by the late Magid Igbaria, Claremont Graduate School.  The award was presented for the first time at the 2004 CPR conference.

Congratulations to the following prize recipients!

2014 Award Recipients:

Deborah J. Armstrong (Florida State University) and Cindy K. Riemenschneider (Baylor University) won for their paper - The Barriers Facing Women in the Information Technology Profession: An Exploratory Investigation of Ahuja’s Model

2013 Award Recipients:

Violet Ho (University of Richmond), Jonathan Whitaker (University of Richmond), Sunil Mithas (University of Maryland), and Prasanto Roy(Cybermedia)  won for their paper - Success is More Than a Resumé: The Role of Social and Psychological Capital in Compensation for Offshore BPO Professionals.

2012 Award Recipients:

Gaetan Mourmant (Universite de Strasbourg) and Katerina Voutsina (National Technical University of Athens) won for their paper - What Should I Understand? The Concept of Shift of Understanding, a Quote-Based Analysis

2011 Award Recipients:

Sven Laumer (University of Bamberg), Christian Maier (University of Bamberg), Andreas Eckhardt (Goethe-University of Frankfurt), and Tim Weitzel (University of Bamberg) for their paper, "The Trend is Our Friend: German IT Personnel's Perception of Job-related Factors Before, During, and After the Economic Downturn"

2010 Award Recipients:

Maung K. Sein and Stig Nordheim for their paper, "Learning Processes in User Training: The Case for Hermeneutics"

2009 Award Recipients:

Kodwig MgayaFaith-Michael UzokaErnets Kitinidi, and Alice Shemi for their paper, "Examining Career Orientations of Information Systems Personnel in an Emerging Economy Context."

2008 Award Recipients:

Eileen M. Trauth, The Pennsylvania State University, Jeria L. Quesenberry,Carnegie Mellon University, Haiyan Huang, The Pennsylvania State University, and Stephen McKnight, GSP Consulting, for their paper, "Linking Economic Development and Workforce Diversity through Action Research."

2007 Award Recipients:

Tim Klaus, Texas A & M University, Stephen Wingreen, Southeastern Universityand J. Ellis Blanton, University of South Florida, for their paper, "Examining User Resistance and Management Strategies in Enterprise System Implementations."

2006 Award Recipients:

Margaret F. Reid, Myria W. Allen, Cynthia K. Riemenschneider  andDeborah J. Armstrong for their paper, "Affective Commitment in the Public Sector: The Case of IT Employees."

2005 Award Recipients:

Kelly J. Fadel and Mohan Tanniru, both of the University of Arizona, for their paper, "A Knowledge-Centric Framework for Process Redesign."

2004 Award Recipients:

Ms. Maren Simonsen, University of Bergen, and Dr. Maung Sein, University of Bergen and Agder University College, for their paper, "Conceptual Frameworks in Practice: Evaluating EU Training Strategy in Organizations."



The ACM Special Interest Group on Mobility of Systems, Users, Data, and Computing